A California Law Firm Seeking Justice For Boating Accident Victims
Many California boating accidents are caused by negligent actions of the operator or passenger and can result in personal injury and property damage. Negligent boat operation includes operating the boat while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, excessive speed, driving at a reckless speed and failing to maintain the boat. If you or a loved one was involved in a boating accident, contact the Law Office of Brian H. Turner to ensure you receive the compensation you deserve.
California Boating Accident Reporting Requirements
There are special reporting requirements for California boating accidents. The California Division of Boating and Waterways (DBW) requires a written accident report to be submitted within a certain time frame. A report must be submitted to the DBW within 48 hours of a California boating accident if one or more of the following occur:
- A death within 24 hours of the accident
- A person has disappeared
- The injuries require medical attention beyond first aid
A report must be submitted within 10 days of the accident if the accident involved a person who died more than 24 hours later or if there is property damage to the vessel exceeding $500.00. Failing to comply with these boating accident reporting requirements may leave a victim without recourse. Do not take any chances. Contact the skilled boating accident attorneys at the Law Office of Brian H. Turner.
Let Us Help You Claim Much-Needed Compensation
After a California boat accident, victims may be able to recover damages related to the loss of income, pain and suffering, medical treatment and rehabilitation, loss of companionship and future medical treatment. To get the compensation you deserve, contact the Law Office of Brian H. Turner in Sacramento for a free and confidential consultation. Call 916-571-9583 or reach out online.