Many California boating accidents are caused by negligent actions of the operator or passenger and can result in personal injury and property damage. Negligent boat operation includes operating the boat while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, excessive speed, driving at a reckless speed, and failing to maintain the boat. If you or a loved one was involved in a boating accident, contact the Law Office of Brian H. Turner to ensure you receive the compensation you deserve.
California Boating Accident Reporting Requirements
There are special reporting requirements for California boating accidents. The California Division of Boating and Waterways (“DBW”) requires a written accident report to be submitted within a certain time frame. A report must be submitted to the DBW within 48 hours of a California boating accident if the following occur: a death within 24 hours of the accident, a person has disappeared, and/or injury resulted beyond first aid. A report must be submitted within 10 days of the accident if the accident involved a person who died more than 24 hours later or if there is property damage to the vessel exceeding $500.00. Failing to comply with these California boating accident reporting requirements may leave a victim without recourse. Do not take any chances, contact a California batting accident attorney with the Law Office of Brian H. Turner.
California Boating Accident Victim's Rights
For a California boat accident, victims may be able to recover loss of income, pain and suffering, medical treatment and rehabilitation, loss of companionship, and future medical treatment. To get the compensation you deserve, call a California boating accident attorney at the Law Office of Brian H. Turner for a free and confidential consultation.